Give
Local: (804) 828-9123 Toll-free: (800) 222-1222

Our staff

Contact us

For clinical questions, contact our call center at (804) 828-9123 or (800) 222-1222.

 

Poison Center Director

S. Rutherfoord Rose, Pharm.D.
rutherfoord.rose@vcuhealth.org

Medical Director

Kirk Cumpston, D.O.
kirk.cumpston@vcuhealth.org

Fellowship Program Director

Brandon Wills, D.O.
brandon.wills@vcuhealth.org

Education Specialist

Fiorella Carhuaz, CHES

fiorella.carhuaz@vcuhealh.org

Outreach Health Coordinators

Michele Burt, RN, CSPI
michele.burt@vcuhealth.org

Sherri Ellis, RN, CSPI
sherri.ellis@vcuhealth.org

Administrative Assistant

Jonathan Humphries
jonathan.humphries@vcuhealth.org

Toxicologist

Michelle Troendle, M.D.
michelle.troendle@vcuhealth.org

Fellow

John Downs, M.D., M.P.H.  

john.downs@vcuhealth.org

 

Specialists in Poison Information (SPIs)

 

These registered nurses staff our phone lines 24/7 and are trained to evaluate and treat toxic exposures. Many are board certified as Certified Specialists in Poison Information.